Guernsey forum.
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Guernsey forum.

Guernsey forum for Guernsey people

HomeLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

In Prison in Guernsey during the German Occupation

Go down 
AuthorMessage
eric

In Prison in Guernsey during the German Occupation Empty
PostSubject: In Prison in Guernsey during the German Occupation   In Prison in Guernsey during the German Occupation Icon_minitimeSat Mar 22, 2008 4:31 pm

I also started making crystal sets, which I had been doing for about two years I suppose, and I supplied several of my friends with them, and then unfortunately someone sent an anonymous letter and a short while after I was working on the bikes one morning when the German Gestapo arrived at the house and the two of them walked in and said I was making crystal sets, unfortunately there were a couple of them available and so they knew very well that I was doing it and I was taken off to the house in St Jacques where was where the Wesley Monument is and questioned there. And we had ten days solitary confinement which was the usual thing in those days and you got called out several times for questioning and we got down to our sentencing and one other gentleman who was in there at the same time as me was, what was his name, Mr De Putron , Tommy De Putron who had the Greenacres Hotel, and he apparently had a transmitter he had made and he was getting in touch with a friend of his on the mainland, and I was sat outside the court, both of us had been taken down under armed guard, we had an armed guard each, and I could hear what was going on in the court, and the judge said “The sentence is six months, have you anything to say”, and Tommy turned round and said “yes sir, I think the sentence is rather long” To this German judge turned round and said “well in that case the sentence is twelve months”. So I went in and got questioned, he said the sentence is six months, have you anythin